Writing Distracted

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been a little too preoccupied lately to do much writing. With the opening of the Innisfil Farmers’ Market just a scant week away on Thursday July 28, your Farmers’ Market Committee has been busy pulling it all together. I’m happy to say that, as a committee member, I will be serving each week this season as the market-day manager, also known as the Lead Market Volunteer.

The Innisfil Farmers’ Market will operate every Thursday from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. until October 6 at the Innisfil Recreational Complex. The opening of the Market brings to fulfilment a project that I have advocated for several years. I can only hope that it will earn the enthusiastic support of Innisfil residents and develop into the kind of valued asset envisioned in the Town’s strategic plan, Inspiring Innisfil, 2020.

At its opening, Innisfil’s market will feature a wide array of local products (by local, I mean from growers and producers within Innisfil and Simcoe County): the latest available crops from the field, herbs, honey, meats, prepared meals, baking and other treats. The market also welcomes a non-profit community organization to join us each week and meet Innisfil residents.

Opening day will include fun for everyone – a clown, face painting, and musical entertainment. A welcoming ceremony with political dignitaries takes place at 5:00 p.m.

Although I haven’t been writing much, I’ve been thinking about new additions to this blog to provide readers with more opportunities to add their own contributions. In the coming days and weeks, watch for new features to be added.

Look for me at the Innisfil Farmers’ Market – I’ll be looking for you.

